↑ Return to Racing

GMT Boat of the Year

Since 2004, GMT Composites has sponsored the NBYA Boat of the Year Trophy. Please go to www.gmtcomposites.com for more information about their company.

Welcome to the 2017 season of the Boat of the Year Series!  This year all NBYA members can participate as a benefit of membership – simply enroll your boat in the series.

Click here to join NBYA.

Click here to complete the no-charge member entry for the 2017 NBYA “Boat-of-the Year” series.

2017 BOTY scoring as of 10 11 17   



2017 Events

5/21/2017 Pret Gladding Race Barrington Yacht Club
6/4/2017 Leukemia Cup (revised date) New York Yacht Club
6/17/2017 NBYA Spring PHRF & One Design Championship NBYA / Bristol Yacht Club
6/242017 2000 Club Spring Race Twenty Hundred Club
7/15/2017 East Greenwich YC Annual Regatta East Greenwich Yacht Club
7/30/2017 Mount Hope Sailing Association (MOHOSA) Regatta Bristol Yacht Club
8/5/2017 2000 Block Island Race Twenty Hundred Club
9/3/2017 Conanicut YC Around the Island Race Conanicut Yacht Club
9/9/2017 NBYA Fall PHRF & One Design Championship NBYA / East Greenwich Yacht Club
9/23/2017 2000 Fall Race Twenty Hundred Club
9/24/2017 Bud Humphrey Race Barrington Yacht Club
9/30/2017 Sail For Hope Regatta Sail Newport
2017 Winners

Spinnaker – Two Dogs, Moose McClintock

Non-spinnaker – Caneel, Chip Hawkins

Previous Winners
  • 2016- Non-spinnaker – Larvik, Kim Andersen              
  • 2016- Spinnaker – Mischief, David Schwartz                                   
  • 2015 – Spinnaker – Mischief , David Schwartz
  • 2015 – Non-spinnaker – Caneel, Chip Hawkins
  • 2014 – Spinnaker – Mischief , David Schwartz
  • 2014 – Non-spinnaker – Caneel, Chip Hawkins
  • 2013 – Spinnaker – Nemesis, Mark Rotsky
  • 2013 – Non-spinnaker – Caneel, Chip Hawkins
  • 2012 – Caneel, Chip Hawkins
  • 2011 – Caneel, Chip Hawkins
  • 2010 – Caneel, Chip Hawkins
  • 2009 – Rigadoon, Bill & Doug Riggs
  • 2008 – Caneel, Chip Hawkins
  • 2007 – Caneel, Chip Hawkins
  • 2006 – Rumours, Woodhouse, Kehew and Nanni
  • 2005 – Wazimo, Bob Manchester
  • 2004 – Wazimo, Barret Holby

Trophy Deed of Gift

  1. The name of the trophy shall be The Narragansett Bay Boat of the Year Trophy.
  2. The trophy has been provided by GMT Composites, 48 Ballou Blvd, Bristol, RI 02809 to Narragansett Bay Yachting Association.  GMT retains ownership of the trophy.  GMT will bear the costs of updating the trophy each year.  Trophy reverts to GMT if NBYA can no longer award the trophy under the terms of this deed.
  3. The trophy shall be awarded to the owner of the boat on Narragansett Bay that has the achieved the best overall performance for the season.  NBYA shall define and publish the criteria that will be used to choose the winner.
  4. The trophy will be given to the winner in the Fall.  It is the winner’s responsibility to return the trophy to GMT Composites in good condition by the end of the following September.  The trophy must be displayed at the winner’s yacht club from July 1 through September 15.  The winner may display the trophy as they choose during the rest of the year.

Permanent link to this article: http://nbya.org/racing/boty/