↑ Return to Junior Sailing

Mike Bello Award

The Mike Bello Junior Sportsmanship Award

Mike Bello raced Lasers on Narragansett Bay in the 1970s out of the Edgewood Yacht Club. He sailed his way to the Junior National Singlehanded Championships and was a 1981 Collegiate All-American sailor at the College of Charleston, South Carolina. No one sailed harder – or fairer – than Mike. Mike weighed about 160 pounds, and sailed before there were Laser Radials – so he had to go in a full rig. Back then, wet sweatshirts were legal, so Mike would load up with about 30 pounds of wetness before each start. He would do anything to win, as long as it was within the rules.

Mike died in a plane crash on August 28, 1990. The NBYA award in his name is intended to recognize his spirit. We need each of you to think of that member of your sailing program that sets that example – who sails hard and sails fair, maybe not finishing first, but is always a sportsman.

Purpose of the Award

The Mike Bello Junior Sportsmanship Award acknowledges the junior sailor who best exemplified the qualities of sportsmanship, fair play, concern for fellow sailors and an enjoyment of competitive sailing as demonstrated by Mike Bello.

Who is eligible?

Any Junior Sailor who participated in one of NBYA’s junior events this summer in the current year.

How do I nominate an individual?

You can nominate an individual by completing a paper form or by completing a form online.  You can fill out a form at the regatta where you witnessed the qualities of sportsmanship. Paper forms will be available at all regattas.

>> Click Here to complete an online form

If you complete the form online you can forward us the information by clicking on the ‘Submit by Email’ button on the top right of the form. Saving the completed form to your disk and sending us the saved file will not work as the process also resets the form and all we get is a blank form. Alternatively you can print the form and send it to;

PO Box 73
Bristol, RI 02809-0073

Or you can fax the printed form to 401-431-9190

Other information

If your choice has already been nominated please complete a nomination form and submit the junior sailor again. Voting will be done online in the NBYA Junior Sailing Forum after the nominations are closed. All nominations received will be posted on the NBYA Junior Sailing Forum. Click Here for a PDF of the Mike Bello ‘Deed of Gift’

Past Winners of the Mike Bello Junior Sportsmanship Award



Yacht Club

1991 Christopher Monti East Greenwicht Yacht Club
1992 Keri Gendron Edgewood Yacht Club
1993 Justin Assad East Greenwicht Yacht Club
1994 Leeds Mitchell IV Barrington Yacht Club
1995 Davi Przygoda East Greenwicht Yacht Club
1996 Jonathan Goff Bristol Yacht Club
1997 Ted Winston Bristol Yacht Club
1998 Kurt Kalberer East Greenwicht Yacht Club
1999 Joseph Francis Bristol Yacht Club
2000 Andrea Petronello Ida Lewis Yacht Club
2001 Elizabeth Varr East Greenwicht Yacht Club
2003 Cameron Chafee Saunderstown Yacht Club
2006 Lyle Fielding Saunderstown Yacht Club
2007 Emily Gowell Conanicut Yacht Club
2009 Thomas A Galster Saunderstown Yacht Club
2010 Molly Hanson Tiverton Yacht Club
2011 Matthew Coughlin East Greenwicht Yacht Club
2012 Oliver Moss Ida Lewis Yacht Club
2013 Charlotte Russell Barrington Yacht Club

Permanent link to this article: http://nbya.org/juniors/bello/