↑ Return to Awards and Honors

2016 Awards Listing

2016 Awards

Herbert B Farnum Award

Conanicut Yacht Club

To be awarded annually to the member Yacht Club which most exemplifies the goal of excellence in regatta management.

Charles V. Cox Memorial Award for Sportsmanship

Noel Field

This Award is made to an NBYA member who consistently over a span of time of not less than three years actively participates in racing as a member of NBYA and demonstrates both a competitive spirit and good sportsmanship.

William E. Tripp Trophy

Kim Hapgood

This award is made to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to yachting on Narragansett Bay either in a specific accomplishment or through a lifetime of service.

Mike Bello Junior Sportsmanship Award

Not Awarded in 2016

This acknowledges the junior sailor who best exemplified the qualities of sportsmanship, fair play, concern for fellow sailors and an enjoyment of competitive sailing as demonstrated by Mike Bello Junior.

GMT Boat of the Year

This award recognizes the boats and skippers that have won the “Boat of the Year Series” of races through-out Narragansett Bay and achieved the top performance of all boats in their class.

Larvik  (non-spinnaker class)

Mischief  (spinnaker class)

Ron Carr One Design Award

The Ron Carr Trophy was given by the Carr family in memory of Ron Carr an avid J24 and J30 sailor.  Ron who won the J30 North Americans in 1991 passed away from Leukemia in 1996.

The trophy is awarded each year to the top NBYA one design boat


Permanent link to this article: http://nbya.org/awards/listing/